Eastman Explosion 1960-list of deceased

Below is a listing of men who died as a result of the Eastman Explosion compiled by Pete Dykes in his booklet,  “The Day the Plant Exploded,” date unknown.

*Bernard C. Arnold- Employed at Eastman for 17 years.  Worked in the Acid Division.

*J.D. Byington, 50-With Eastman for 23 years in the S & M Division.

*Dr. A.J. Chadwell, 29-Worked in the Acid Division as a research chemist.

*J. Carl Cochran, 53-With Eastman for 26 years and worked in the Acid Division.

*R. Carl Cox, 59-Employed at Eastman for 20 years in the Acid Division.

*Cornelius Y. Depew, 36-Employed for 11 years in the Organic Chemicals Department.

*Usif Haney, 45-Worked for Eastman for 20 years. Haney was a chemist that was in charge of the aniline plant in the Organic Chemical Division.

*I.D.  Mullins,39-   Employed by Eastman for 20 years in the Acid Division.

*Manze Powers, 50-With Eastman for 17 years in the Shops and Maintenance Division.

*Ed O. Repass, 51-Worked in the Stores and Warehousing Division.

*James W. (Ott) Sage, Jr., 28-Employed for 7 years in the Acid Division.

*Jimmie W. Sanders, 27-Office Services Department

*Jess Ray Shell, 35-Organic Chemicals Division

*John W. Squibb, 44-Organic Chemicals Division for 18 years.

*Arthur H. Stevens, 44-Resident of Sullivan County for 30 years

3 thoughts on “Eastman Explosion 1960-list of deceased

  1. I can’t say I can relate to these people but I can say everyday at the Eastman I hope and pray nothing goes wrong I have a 8yr old daughter and wife I could only imagine the pain. And suffering it would cause if they lost me. In the marines we would never leave a brother behind I wanted the family’s to know that I still to this day pray for all those who lost their lives in this incident. And they are not forgotten eighther. I’m 29 don’t know everything but know that they served Eastman just as if they were in the services. And I respect them.

  2. I was in Knoxville attending The University of Tennessee. My Dad and my oldest brother worked at Eastman. Fortunately, my Dad (Arthur) was home sick on that day. He was the supervisor of the Electrical Maintenance Dept. and his office window faced the building where the explosion occurred. The steel frame window and the wire reinforced safety glass was imbeded in the wall behind his desk. Had he not been home he would have been there checking time cards. My brother, Jack, had finished work and just pulled into his driveway. His house was close by the plant. His car shook violently and his storm door entered the house, wrapping around the TV. My Dad often left his clothes at the back door so that the smell could be washed out (Aniline?). My career was in the rocket engine business. Early hypergolic propellants used analine and nitric acid. In my time we had switched to hydrazine and nitric acid.

Leave a Reply

